Champions Cork earn eight Camogie All-Star awards

All-Ireland Senior Camogie champions Cork capped off a successful season on Saturday night with eight players receiving All-Star awards.

The annual ceremony, held in Croke Park, saw Cork captain Amy O’Connor among the All-Star recipients, joined by her teammates Katrina Mackey, Hannah Looney, Libby Coppinger, Meabh Cahalane, Laura Treacy, Amy Lee and Saoirse McCarthy.

The Rebels’ Matthew Twomey was picked for the Manager of the Year award.

Runners-up Waterford took home three All-Stars, going to Vikki Falconer, Lorraine Bray and Beth Carton, who was also chosen as PwC GPA Senior Camogie Player of the Year, as voted by fellow players.

Tipperary, who fell to the Déise in the semi-final, had two players named in the team of the year, Karen Kennedy and Cáit Devane, while the two remaining spots went to Galway’s Róisín Black and Kilkenny’s Denise Gaule.

Derry co-captain Aine McAllister added to her county’s triumphant Intermediate campaign by picking up the PwC GPA Camogie Intermediate Player of the Year award, while Clare’s Ellen Casey was chosen as Junior Player of the Year.

“2023 has been an extraordinary year, and we are delighted to pay tribute to the outstanding achievements and exceptional talent of our players,” Camogie Association president Hilda Breslin said.

“Huge congratulations to all our nominees and winners who have demonstrated unparalleled commitment and immense contribution to our wonderful sport.”

She added: “We proudly celebrated a record-breaking year for camogie, with over 30,000 ardent supporters in attendance at our All-Ireland Championship Finals in Croke Park. This milestone further amplifies the recognition of our talented players deserve.”


No votes yet.
Please wait...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *