Republic of Ireland recall Troy Parrott and Caoimhin Kelleher

Troy Parrott and Caoimhin Kelleher have returned to the Republic of Ireland squad for the matches with the Netherlands and New Zealand.

Barring an unlikely sequence of events, Ireland will not qualify for Euro 2024 but will be aiming to finish their campaign on a high against the Dutch in Amsterdam on November 18.

Stephen Kenny’s side are fourth in Group B having won only two of their seven qualifying games.

Tottenham forward Parrott – who is on loan at Excelsior Rotterdam – earns a recall after scoring three goals so far during his time with Eredivisie club.

Liverpool goalkeeper Kelleher also returns to the team after missing last month’s Euro 2024 qualifying games with a knee injury.

Wrexham winger James McClean will be added to the squad for the home friendly against New Zealand on November 21 as he gets set to make his farewell appearance for Ireland.

The 34-year-old announced his retirement from international football last month having amassed 102 caps for his country.

Goalkeepers: Gavin Bazunu (Southampton), Caoimhín Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (Bournemouth).

Defenders: Matt Doherty (Wolves), Festy Ebosele (Udinese), Ryan Manning (Southampton), Liam Scales (Celtic), Shane Duffy (Norwich City), Nathan Collins (Brentford), Dara O’Shea (Burnley), Andrew Omobamidele (Nottingham Forest).

Midfielders: Josh Cullen (Burnley), Jayson Molumby (West Brom), Alan Browne (Preston), Will Smallbone (Southampton), Jason Knight (Bristol City), Jamie McGrath (Aberdeen), Mark Sykes (Bristol City).

Forwards: Evan Ferguson (Brighton), Adam Idah (Norwich City), Callum Robinson (Cardiff City), Chiedozie Ogbene (Luton Town), Mikey Johnston (Celtic), Troy Parrott (Excelsior, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur).


No votes yet.
Please wait...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *