GAA round up: Paudie Clifford goal helps East Kerry to title

It was a busy day of action in the GAA Club provincial championships in Football and Hurling, with big names involved across the country.

In hurling, Waterford champions Ballygunner eased into the Munster semi-final as they defeated Sarsfields of Cork 2-20 to 0-09.

Pauirc Mahony scored seven points, while the goals came from Peter Hogan and Kevin Mahony. Dessie Hutchinson was key for Ballygunner, as he set up both goals, while scoring four points of his own.

In Kerry, East Kerry were made to work as they defeated Mid Kerry 2-10 to 0-15 to win their fourth Kerry senior football championship in five years.

Goals from Paudie Clifford and Luke Crowley, along with three points from David Clifford proved crucial as they were pushed all the way by a Mid Kerry who gave everything as they threatened a late comeback.

Corofin are champions of Galway as they defeated last year’s all-Ireland semi-finalists Moycullen 1-11 to 1-09. Tony Gill scored the vital goal for Corofin in the second half.

Moycullen threatened a comeback through a late goal from Johnny Moloney, but Corofin used their experience to hold on for victory.

It was quarter-final action in the Leinster senior club football championship, as Ardee St Mary’s set up a semi-final date against Kilmacud Crokes with a 3-9 to 2-5 win over Wicklow’s Blessington.

Kildare champions Naas beat Summerhill of Meath by 2-12 to 0-8, and St Loman’s defeated Killoe 1-20 to 1-10.

In the Ulster championship, 2022 All-Ireland champions Kilcoo ran out nine point winners over Derry Gonnelly Harps at Brewster Park. Paul Devlin scored 1-3 for Kilcoo, with their second goal coming from substitute Sean Og McCusker to seal victory with eight minutes remaining.

In Limerick, Newcastle West won their third title in a row when they defeated Adare 3-5 to 0-13. Eoin Hurley was the standout player for Newcastle West, scoring 2-4 to lead them to victory.



No votes yet.
Please wait...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *