GAA: Galway win Connacht title with last minute free from Gleeson

Galway goalkeeper Conor Gleeson scored a last minute free to defeat rivals Mayo 0-16 to 0-15 in the Connacht final.

In a tense first half, Galway went to direct to Damien Comer, who had a lot of success in in the opening 35 minutes.

Mayo were able to adapt and went into the interval with a 0-7 to 0-5 lead, with Ryan O’Donoghue and Tommy Conroy among the scorers.

Galway responded in the second half and took the lead in the 42nd minute through Robert Finnerty. For the first time, there was three points between the teams when O’Donoghue scored in the 53rd minute.

Galway never gave up and Shane Walsh put them ahead in the 61st minute to lead 0-12 to 0-11.

Mayo looked to be on for victory when Matthew Ryane put them 0-15 to 0-13 ahead in the 67th minute, but three unanswered points from Galway drew them level.

Then in the 75th minute, goalkeeper Gleeson scored the free to win Galway the Connacht title.

Kerry retained their Munster title as they ran out 0-23 to 1-13 winners over Clare in Ennis.

In a first half evenly contested, Clare more than put it up to Kerry, as the Kingdowm took a 0-11 to 0-7 lead into the interval.

While Kerry looked for a quick response, Clare had goal chances as goalkeeper Sean Murphy was kept busy.

Seán O’Shea scored nine points to as Kerry were able to keep the scoreboard ticking, but Clare’s Ikem Ugweru’s 63rd-minute goal gave Clare hope in the final minutes.

However, Kerry used their experience to hold on for their 85th Munster title.



No votes yet.
Please wait...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *