Donegal secure Division 2 title with narrow win over Armagh

Donegal 0-15 Armagh 0-14

Armagh and Donegal spent the first 64 minutes presenting a compelling argument to scrap the Sunday League finals.

Equally convincing was the counter argument they pulled from nowhere in the closing 10 minutes.

Save for that 10-minute stretch at the finish, this Division 2 decider was devoid of quality or interest. It was devoid of anything to bring you remotely close to the edge of your seat.

We might as well begin and place focus on the last lap given it is hardly worth recounting what came before.

From half-time to the 63rd minute, this Division 2 decider produced just six scores. From the 64th minute to the fourth minute of injury-time, there were nine white flags.

Rory Grugan’s 64th minute free was Armagh’s first score in 24 minutes. It brought an end to their seemingly never-ending series of missed chances.

Darragh McMullan was thrice off target, Stefan Campbell fluffed a goal opening, Peter McGrane saw his goal shot saved, sub Rian O’Neill was off target from the placed ball, and Andrew Murnin and Grugan both hit the post. And on and one went their third quarter squandary.

Grugan’s kick to end their scoreless spell was the first of a five-minute five-in-a-row. Oisín O’Neill was at the end of that sequence to shove the Orchard into a scarcely believable 0-13 to 0-12 lead.

Donegal No 6 Caolan McGonagle pointed six seconds into injury-time for their first score in 21 minutes. Oisín Gallen subsequently returned them in front.

His namesake Conaty brought Armagh level as a game that slept walk for so long continued to soar up through the gears.

Aaron Doherty’s 73rd minute winner brought the curtain down on a delightfully chaotic and most welcome closing 10 minutes.


No votes yet.
Please wait...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *