AFCON 2023 state of play: Group tables, fixtures, venues, full schedule, kick-off times as 2023 tournament approaches knockout stage

The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations started on Saturday January 13 in Abidjan, Ivory Coast; the final also takes place at the Alassane Ouattara Stadium on Sunday February 11

State of play, dates, groups, fixtures, kick-off times, host cities and previous winners – here’s all you need to know for the Africa Cup of Nations 2023.

The third and final round of group games continue on Tuesday, all live on Sky Sports, with passageway into the round of 16 up for grabs.

As it stands, Equatorial Guinea and Nigeria have booked their place in the knockouts after winning their final group games on Monday.

Cape Verde and Egypt have also booked a definitive date in the next round, having finished in the top two of Group B.

  • Mohamed Salah to return to Liverpool from AFCON after suffering injury
  • AFCON 2023: Fixtures, results, schedule
  • Watch AFCON highlights for free on Sky Sports
  • Get Sky Sports | Get NOW to stream big moments

Senegal will also progress after securing first or second place in Group C, while Guinea-Bissau have been eliminated after suffering defeats against Ivory Coast and Equatorial Guinea.

Four third-place teams will also progress to the knockout stages, which currently includes Ivory Coast, Namibia, Algeria and Zambia.

Datawrapper This content is provided by Datawrapper, which may be using cookies and other technologies. To show you this content, we need your permission to use cookies. You can use the buttons below to amend your preferences to enable Datawrapper cookies or to allow those cookies just once. You can change your settings at any time via the Privacy Options. Unfortunately we have been unable to verify if you have consented to Datawrapper cookies. To view this content you can use the button below to allow Datawrapper cookies for this session only. Enable Cookies Allow Cookies Once

Today’s fixtures

State of play

Group A

Group B

Group C

Group D

Group E

Group F

What are the groups?

The 24 teams taking part have been split into six groups of four.

Here’s the line-up…

  • Get Sky Sports | Stream Sky Sports with NOW
  • Which Premier League players are at AFCON and the Asia Cup?
  • Watch free AFCON highlights | AFCON tables | Fixtures

Group A: Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau.

Group B: Egypt, Ghana, Cape Verde, Mozambique.

Group C: Senegal, Cameroon, Guinea, The Gambia.

Group D: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Mauritania, Angola.

Group E: Tunisia, Mali, South Africa, Namibia.

Group F: Morocco, DR Congo, Zambia, Tanzania.

The top two teams in each group and the four best-ranked third-placed teams will advance to the last 16.

Fixtures and schedule…

Image: Sadio Mane consoles his then-Liverpool team-mate Mohamed Salah after Senegal beat Egypt on penalties in the final of AFCON 2022

Group stage

Saturday January 13

Group A: Ivory Coast 2-0 Guinea-Bissau

Sunday January 14

Group A: Nigeria 1-1 Equatorial Guinea

Group B: Egypt 2-2 Mozambique

Group B: Ghana 1-2 Cape Verde

Monday January 15

Group C: Senegal 3-0 Gambia

Group C: Cameroon 1-1 Guinea

Group D: Algeria 1-1 Angola

Tuesday January 16

Group D: Burkina Faso 1-0 Mauritania

Group E: Tunisia 0-1 Namibia

Group E: Mali 2-0 South Africa

Wednesday January 17

Group F: Morocco 3-0 Tanzania

Group F: DR Congo 1-1 Zambia

Thursday January 18

Group A: Equatorial Guinea 4-2 Guinea-Bissau

Group A: Ivory Coast 0-1 Nigeria

Group B: Egypt 2-2 Ghana

Friday January 19

Group B: Cape Verde 3-0 Mozambique

Group C: Senegal 3-1 Cameroon

Group C: Guinea 1-0 Gambia

Saturday January 20

Group D: Algeria 2-2 Burkina Faso

Group D: Mauritania 2-3 Angola

Group E: Tunisia 1-1 Mali

Sunday January 21

Group F: Morocco 1-1 DR Congo

Group F: Zambia 1-1 Tanzania

Group E: South Africa 4-0 Namibia

Monday January 22

Group A: Equatorial Guinea 4-0 Ivory Coast

Group A: Guinea-Bissau 0-1 Nigeria

Group B: Cape Verde 2-2 Egypt

Group B: Mozambique 2-2 Ghana

Tuesday January 23

Group C: The Gambia vs Cameroon – Bouake (5pm)

Group C: Guinea vs Senegal – Yamoussoukro (5pm)

Group D: Angola vs Burkina Faso – Yamoussoukro (8pm)

Group D: Mauritania vs Algeria – Bouake (8pm)

Wednesday January 24

Group E: Namibia vs Mali – San Pedro (5pm)

Group E: South Africa vs Tunisia – Korhogo (5pm)

Group F: Tanzania vs DR Congo – Korhogo (8pm)

Group F: Zambia vs Morocco – San Pedro (8pm)

Second round

Saturday January 27

SR1: Group D Winner vs 3rd Place Group B/E/F – Bouake (5pm)

SR2: Group A Second Place vs Group C Second Place – Felix Houphouet-Boigny Stadium, Abidjan (8pm)

Sunday January 28

SR3: Group A Winner vs 3rd Place Group C/D/E – Alassane Ouattara Stadium, Abidjan (5pm)

SR4: Group B Second Place vs Group F Second Place -San Pedro (8pm)

Monday January 29

SR5: Group B Winner vs 3rd Place Group A/C/D -Felix Houphouet-Boigny Stadium, Abidjan (5pm)

SR6: Group C Winner vs 3rd Place Group A/B/F – Yamoussoukro (8pm)

Tuesday January 30

SR7: Group E Winner vs Group D Second Place – Korhogo (5pm)

SR8: Group F Winner vs Group E Second Place – San Pedro (8pm)


Friday February 2

QF1: Winner SR2 vs Winner RS1 – Felix Houphouet-Boigny Stadium, Abidjan (5pm)

QF2: Winner SR4 vs Winner SR3 – Alassane Ouattara Stadium, Abidjan (8pm)

Saturday February 3

QF3: Winner SR7 vs Winner RS6 – Bouake (5pm)

QF4: Winner SR5 vs Winner SR8 – Yamoussoukro (8pm)


Wednesday February 7

SF1: Winner QF1 vs Winner QF4 – Bouake (5pm)

SF2: Winner QF3 vs Winner QF2 – Alassane Ouattara Stadium, Abidjan (8pm)

Third place play-off

Saturday February 10

Felix Houphouet-Boigny Stadium, Abidjan (8pm)


Sunday February 11

Alassane Ouattara Stadium, Abidjan (8pm)

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Take a look at our picks of the best Premier League players who will be taking part in the Africa Cup of Nations this month

The venues…

Five host cities have been chosen with six stadiums used for the tournament.

  • Alassane Ouattara Stadium, Abidjan (capacity 60,000)
  • Felix Houphouet-Boigny Stadium, Abidjan (33,000)
  • Charles Konan Banny Stadium, Yamoussoukro (20,000)
  • Stade de la Paix, Bouake (40,000)
  • Amadou Gon Coulibaly Stadium, Korhogo (20,000)
  • Laurent Pokou Stadium, San Pedro (20,000)

AFCON: Previous winners and runners-up…

Year Winners Runners-up
1957 Egypt Ethiopia
1959 Egypt Sudan
1962 Ethiopia Egypt
1963 Ghana Sudan
1965 Ghana Tunisia
1968 DR Congo Ghana
1970 Sudan Ghana
1972 Congo Mali
1974 DR Congo Zambia
1976 Morocco Guinea
1978 Ghana Uganda
1980 Nigeria Algeria
1982 Ghana Libya
1984 Cameroon Nigeria
1986 Egypt Cameroon
1988 Cameroon Nigeria
1990 Algeria Nigeria
1992 Ivory Coast Ghana
1994 Nigeria Zambia
1996 South Africa Tunisia
1998 Egypt South Africa
2000 Cameroon Nigeria
2002 Cameroon Senegal
2004 Tunisia Morocco
2006 Egypt Ivory Coast
2008 Egypt Cameroon
2010 Egypt Ghana
2012 Zambia Ivory Coast
2013 Nigeria Burkina Faso
2015 Ivory Coast Ghana
2017 Cameroon Egypt
2019 Algeria Senegal
2021 Senegal Egypt

When did the tournament start and where is it?

The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations started on Saturday January 13 with Ivory Coast hosting the finals for the second time.

The hosts got things under way by beating Guinea-Bissau 2-0 in Abidjan.

The 34th edition of the tournament will last two days short of a month and end where it began – at the Alassane Ouattara Stadium – on Sunday February 11.


No votes yet.
Please wait...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *